IPSDK Library
Applications
Versions
Script samples
Benchmark
Features
Pdf brochure
IPSDK - APPLICATIONS

Application list:

Filtering
Porosity characterization
Porosity, tortuosity, propagation, shortest path
Industrial control
Granulometry based on successive openings
Grain size analysis
Difficult nanoparticles segmentation
Sand grain analysis on 3D X-ray images.
Detection and classification on 3D X-ray tomography images
Circular object automatic detection
Crack analysis
IPSDK integration in Avizo
IPSDK

Powerful image filtering tools

 
IPSDK has a large set of filtering and denoising features, such as anisotropic filtering. Its effect is illustrated in the figure below, where this filtering is applied on a very noisy electron microscopy image. This algorithm performs better and faster filtering than the Non-Local Mean algorithm.

Initial image

Anisotropic diffusion

Porosity characterization on Focused Ion Beam (FIB) images

 
IPSDK has material characterization features. This way, it is possible to determine the porosity in a given material image using denoising, binarization, split and labellization features. It is also possible to process measures on the identified elements.
Initial image Volume with pore surimposition Display of the pores only

Porosity, tortuosity, propagation, shortest path inside a rock

 

IPSDK allows to process segmentation and to analyse very quickly the porosities inside a rock. The propagation features also allow to characterize the channel organisation to extract its tortuosity or the shortest path to cross the sample.

 

Original image Propagation distance cartography along the porosities.

Industrial control on 3D X-ray tomography images

 
IPSDK presents some interest in the context of industrial control. Indeed, it is possible to detect material defects thanks to tools available in the library. It is also possible to characterize these defects computing many measures.
Original image (example 1) Porosity detection, measure and visualization.
Original image (example 2) Porosity detection, measure and visualization.

Granulometry based on successive openings

 

When it is impossible to correctly separate the objects in an image, the granulometry based on successive openings prove to be very useful. The main issue of this approach is its rather important calculation time. The use of extremely fast IPSDK morphological operations allows to free the process from this drawback.

Moreover, it is possible to use this algorithm on 3D and large 2D images thanks to these accelerations. Finally, the use of an exact distance map allows to apply perfectly circular structuring elements and thus improve the measure accuracy.

Initial image Granulometry based on successive openings result Ratio between the deleted surface and the whole grain surface depending on the kernel size

Grain size analysis, ASTM E112 grade measurement and histogram distribution

 
IPSDK proposes a set of functionalities specificly dedicated to the metal working industry. Specifically, the library allows to analyse polished slices to identify the various grains in the image. Once the grains segmented, this module proposes two approaches to compute the ASTM coefficient, both are described by the ASTM E112 grain size norms: the methods of intercept and planimetry.
Original image Grain identification Grain size histogram distribution

Difficult nanoparticles segmentation

 
In some 2D or 3D images, the objects can be difficult to identify, as illustrated in the figure below. IPSDK proposes advanced segmentation tools allowing to split grains and thus provides very accurate size repartition measure, even for aggregated grains.
Initial image Segmented nanoparticles Equivalent diameter histogram

Sand grain analysis on 3D X-ray images.

 
IPSDK allows to quickly process large data blocks (several GB) to carry out segmentations and to classify the elements in an image. The figure below presents the sand grain automatic detection and then the automatic classification into two categories according a sphericity.
Initial image Grain segmentation Classification according to the grain shapes
  Area (pixel^2)

Orientation Theta

(degree)

Orientation Phi

(degree)

Volume (pixel^3) Length 3d (pixels) Width 3d (pixels) ...
1

 1834.882

2.591877 90 5454 37.38787 20.47861 ...
2 2647.784 14.01202 90 10207 38.4303 27.73027 ...
3 3032.936 -17.96694 90 12462 409117 28.91777 ...
4 2803.756 -4.482846 89.99952 10929 37.47949 27.20988 ...
5 2759.602 118.0688 90 10938 37.99186 27.16897 ...
6 2642.319 -137.7793 89.99979 10094 35.96535 26.35484 ...
7 2911.815 -13.70393 90 11790 39.3551 27.36119 ...
8 2785.389 178.4612 89.99943 11487 37.66608 28.48056 ...
... ... ... ... ... ... ... ...
Example of measures

Detection and classification on 3D X-ray tomography images

 
IPSDK allows to quickly process large 3D block data (several GB) to carry out segmentations and classify the elements in an image. The figure below presents splinters automatic segmentations and the automatic classification into two categories (tungsten and steel splinters).
Initial image Material families identification

Circular object automatic detection

 
IPSDK proposes specific and fast tools to localize circular object shapes. The circles with well defined borders can be measured. The circles can also be partially hidden or overlap each other. These algorithms are based on the Hough transform applied to circles. A highly optimized implementation allows the use of this algorithm on images of several GB while guaranteeing very fast processing time.
Initial image Image with the detected circles in superimposition

Crack analysis

 
IPSDK has powerful 3D propagation features, as illustrated in the figure below. In this example, IPSDK allows to quickly segment the different cracks of an inconel pipe. In order to characterize the crack propagation inside the pipe, a seed based technique has been used. These seeds have been placed on the pipe contour, at the crack levels. The constrained propagation algorithms then allowed to propagate these seeds into the cracks. The distance computation of each voxel in the crack to the closest seed allowed to characterize the crack depth.
Image originale Crack identification Depth cartography inside a crack

IPSDK Integration in Avizo

 
IPSDK is a library dedicated to software development. In order to also propose powerful 3d visualization tools, IPSDK can directly be used in the Avizo software thanks to the Avizo Bridge module provided with the IPSDK licence. This association allows to take advantage of both the software conviviality and the performances offered by IPSDK. This way, it is possible to significantly reduce processing times.
Illustration of the IPSDK median filter usage in Avizo.

Librairie IPSDK
Applications
Les différentes versions
Exemples de code
Benchmark
Fonctionnalités
Brochure commerciale
IPSDK - APPLICATIONS

Liste des Applications:

Filtrage
Caractérisation de porosités
Porosité, tortuosité, propagation, plus court chemin
Inspection industrielle
Granulométrie par ouvertures successives
Analyse de taille de grains
Segmentation de nanoparticules
Analyse de grains de sable en imagerie RX 3D
Détection et classification sur images tomographiques rayon X 3D
Détection automatique d'objets circulaires
Analyse de fissures
Intégration d'IPSDK dans Avizo
IPSDK

Outils puissants de filtrage d'images

 
IPSDK possède de nombreuses fonctionnalités de filtrage et de débruitage. Parmi elles, on trouve notamment la diffusion anisotrope. La figure suivante montre le résultat obtenu sur une image très bruitée acquise en microscopie électronique. Cet algorithme réalise un filtrage de meilleure qualité qu'un Non Local Mean tout en étant beaucoup plus rapide.

Image originale

Diffusion anisotrope

Caractérisation de porosités sur image de FIB (Focused Ion Beam)

 
IPSDK possède des fonctionnalités de caractérisation de matériaux. Il est ainsi possible de déterminer les porosités d'un matériau en utilisant les fonctionnalités de débruitage, de binarisation, de séparation et de labellisation. Il est également possible d'effectuer des mesures sur les éléments identifiés.
Image originale Volume avec surimpression des trous Affichage des trous seulement

Porosité, tortuosité, propagation, plus court chemin à l'intérieur d'une roche

 

IPSDK permet de segmenter et d'analyser très rapidement les porosités à l'intérieur d'une roche. Les fonctions de propagations permettent aussi de caractériser l'organisation des canaux afin d'en extraire le plus court chemin pour traverser l'échantillon ou encore sa tortuosité.

 

Image originale Cartographie des distances de propagation en suivant les porosités

Inspection industrielle sur des images tomographiques rayon X 3D

 
IPSDK présente un intérêt certain dans le cadre de l'inspection industrielle. Il est en effet possible de détecter les défauts de matériaux à l'aide des outils fournis par la bibliothèque. Il est également possible de caractériser ces défauts en leur appliquant de nombreuses mesures.
Image originale (exemple 1) Détection, mesure et visualisation des porosités.
Image originale (exemple 2) Détection, mesure et visualisation des porosités.

Granulométrie par ouvertures successives

 

Lorsqu’il est impossible de séparer correctement les objets dans une image, la technique de mesure de granulométrie par ouvertures successives peut s’avérer très utile. Le problème principal de cette technique est de générer des temps de calcul assez longs. L’utilisation des opérations morphologiques extrêmement rapides d’IPSDK permet de s’affranchir de cette contrainte.

De plus, ces accélérations autorisent l’utilisation de cette technique sur des images 3D ou sur des images 2D de très grande taille. Enfin, l’utilisation d’une carte de distance exacte permet de mettre en œuvre des éléments structurants parfaitement circulaires et donc d’améliorer la précision de la mesure.

Image originale Résultat de la granulométrie par ouvertures successives Rapport entre le nombre de pixels supprimés et la surface totale de grains en fonction de la taille du noyau

Analyse de taille de grains, mesure de l'indice ASTM E112 et histogramme de répartition

 
IPSDK propose une série de fonctionnalités spécifiquement dédiées à la métallurgie. En particulier, la librairie permet d'analyser des coupes polies afin d'identifier les différents grains présents. Une fois segmentés, ce module propose deux types d'approches pour calculer l'indice ASTM: la méthode par intercept et la méthode par planimétrie, toutes deux décrites par la norme de taille de grains ASTM E112.
Image originale Identification des grains Histogramme de répartion des tailles de grains

Segmentation délicate de nanoparticules

 
Dans certaines images (2D ou 3D), les éléments peuvent être difficiles à identifier, comme c'est le cas dans la figure ci-dessous. IPSDK propose des outlis de segmentation avancés qui permettent de séparer les grains et ainsi fournir une très bonne mesure de répartition des tailles, même si les grains sont agrégés.
Image originale Nanoparticules segmentées Histogramme des diamètres équivalents

Analyse de grains de sable en imagerie RX 3D

 
IPSDK permet de traiter rapidement de gros blocs de données 3D (plusieurs Go) pour réaliser des segmentations et pour classifier les éléments d'une image. Cette démonstration présente la détection automatique de grains de sable puis la classification automatique de ces grains en deux catégories suivant un critère de sphéricité.
Image originale Segmentation des grains Classification suivant la forme des grains
  Area (pixel^2)

Orientation Theta

(degree)

Orientation Phi

(degree)

Volume (pixel^3) Length 3d (pixels) Width 3d (pixels) ...
1

 1834.882

2.591877 90 5454 37.38787 20.47861 ...
2 2647.784 14.01202 90 10207 38.4303 27.73027 ...
3 3032.936 -17.96694 90 12462 409117 28.91777 ...
4 2803.756 -4.482846 89.99952 10929 37.47949 27.20988 ...
5 2759.602 118.0688 90 10938 37.99186 27.16897 ...
6 2642.319 -137.7793 89.99979 10094 35.96535 26.35484 ...
7 2911.815 -13.70393 90 11790 39.3551 27.36119 ...
8 2785.389 178.4612 89.99943 11487 37.66608 28.48056 ...
... ... ... ... ... ... ... ...
Exemple de mesures obtenues

Détection et classification sur des images tomographiques rayon X 3D

 
IPSDK permet de traiter rapidement de gros blocs de données 3D (plusieurs Go) pour réaliser des segmentations et pour classifier les éléments d'une image. Cette démonstration présente la détection automatique d'éclats et la classification automatique en deux catégories (éclats de tungstène et éclats d'acier).
Image originale Identification des deux familles de matériaux

Détection automatique d'objets circulaires

 
IPSDK propose des outils spécifiques et rapides pour localiser et mesurer le contour d'objets de forme circulaire. Les cercles avec des bords bien définis peuvent être mesurés. Les cercles peuvent aussi être partiellement cachés ou se chevaucher. Ces algorithmes sont basés sur la transformée de Hough appliquée aux cercles. Une implémentation extrêmement optimisée permet d'utiliser cet algorithme sur des images de plusieurs Go tout en garantissant des temps de traitement très rapides.
Image originale Affichage en surimpression des cercles détectés

Analyse de fissures

 
IPSDK possède de puissantes fonctionnalités de propagation 3D, comme illustré dans la figure ci-dessous. Dans cet exemple, IPSDK permet de segmenter rapidement les différentes fissures présentes le long du tube d'inconel. Afin de caractériser la propagation des fissures à l'intérieur du tube, une technique de germes a été utilisée. Ces germes ont été placés sur le contour du tube, au niveau des fissures. Les algorithmes de propagation contrainte ont ensuite permis de faire propager ces germes dans les fissures. Le calcul de la distance pour chaque voxel de la fissure au germe le plus proche a permis de caractériser la profondeur de la fissure.
Image originale Identification de toutes les fissures Cartographie des profondeurs à l'intérieur d'une fissure

Intégration d'IPSDK dans Avizo

 
IPSDK est une librairie dédiée au développement logiciel. Afin de proposer aussi des outils de visualisation 3D puissants, IPSDK est directement utilisable dans le logiciel Avizo à l'aide du module Avizo Bridge, fourni avec la licence IPSDK. Cette association permet de profiter à la fois de la convivialité du logiciel, tout en bénéficiant des performances offertes par IPSDK. Il est ainsi possible de réduire de manière significative les temps de traitement.
Illustration de l'utilisation du filtre median IPSDK dans Avizo